TTFN – Ta Ta For Now

Today is my last day in Arizona for at least 12 weeks.

Even though I’ve had roughly three months to prepare it seems as if this internship just snuck up on me. It’s hard to believe that I’ll be thrust into the workforce on Monday. I feel as if I didn’t have enough time to say goodbye to some of my closest friends but I did the best I could. After a series of heartfelt goodbyes it was time to prepare for the next chapter in my life. Right now I need to focus on packing and getting everything together for this expensive endeavor.

When I interned in Milwaukee things were much simpler. I was lucky enough to be able to rent a room from a woman who dealt strictly with female students and interns. The room was furnished and rent included cable, water and electric. The hunt for a place to live in Dallas wasn’t so easy. I ended up renting an apartment for three months and unlike my place in Milwaukee, the apartment didn’t come furnished.  I had to set up cable and rent my own furniture. I’m glad to have a place of my own but it definitely came with a high price. I’m very thankful to have my parents’ emotional and financial support because without them this move wouldn’t be possible.

My journey starts tomorrow. At approximately 8:30am my parents and I will begin our 15 hour trek to Dallas. We are going to make a pit stop in El Paso (we lived there from 1996-2003) and leave for Dallas on the 28th. I’ll move into my new apartment on Saturday the 1st and start interning on Monday the 3rd. My dad’s going to drive back on Tuesday and my mother will be staying with me until the 15th to help me settle in.

I’m not too thrilled about all this but I think once I get there I’ll feel a little better.

See you soon Dallas.

One comment

Leave a Reply

